UK relieves Nigeria, bans South Africa, 29 other countries from entry

Obinwannemn News UK relieves Nigeria, bans South Africa, 29 other countries from entry

The government of United Kingdom has relieved Nigeria amid list of over thirty (30) countries banned from entry, in an attempt to curb the spread of covid-19.

The government revealed it will shortly announce a policy of enforced quarantine in hotels for those arriving in the UK.

The thirty (30) banned countries include: Angola, Argentina, Bolivia, Botswana, Brazil, Cape Verde, Chile, Colombia, Democratic Republic of Congo, Ecuador, Eswanti, French Guiana, Guyana, Lesotho, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Portugal, (including Madeira and Azores, Seychelles, South Africa, Suriname, Tanzania, Venezuela, Zambia, Zimbabwe).

Following a recent development on COVID 19 preventive measures, the UK transport Minister Grant Snapps announced that the UAE, Burundi and Rwanda are being added to the “red list” seen as high risk for travel because of rising cases of the pandemic.

“This means people who have been in or transited through these countries would be denied entry; except British, Irish and third countries nationals with residence right, but must isolate for 10days at home.

“Passengers are still required to present proof of a negative coronavirus test and complete passenger locator form. Failure to do so would mean a £500 (about $680) fine for each offence,” Snapp warned.

Ijeoma Njoku reporting, Obinwannem News

leave a reply

WP Radio
WP Radio